A wasted walk & I think I need a doggie stroller

Yesterday Ann phoned the vets and ordered a repeat prescription of my osteoarthritis tablets and asked if she could pick them up at the Carbis Bay branch. My main vet surgery is in Hayle (about 6 miles away) but they have a little mini surgery at Carbis Bay (about 2 miles away) which is open in the afternoons. Ann said, 'Molly, you can have your afternoon walk to the vets, we can pick up your tablets and then walk back and that will be a nice long walk for you.'



Mmmmmmm..................... best laid plans and all that. It was mega, mega, hot this afternoon so walking so far was difficult for both us us. Ann was sweating like.................... I don't know what? And I was panting like............... I don't know what? I know, I know, too much information!



…..............And then, when we got to the vets, my pills hadn't been brought over from the main surgery. Grrrrrr................ Fortunately Ann is super organised so I still have a couple of days pills left. It's still very annoying though!



Anyway it takes us 45 mins to walk to the vets. I think it took us longer to walk home because it was swelteringly hot. As Ann is the bestest owner in the world, we came home via my most favourite tough so that I could have a good old wallow. I love, love, love, this trough. I had a lovely cool down. Loads of people were watching me wallow around and they kept saying things like; 'He's enjoying that', 'He's having a good time.' 'He likes the water doesn't he.' Grrrrrrr................. Why do strangers always assume I'm a boy? Anyone with any ounce of common-sense can see that I'm a very gorgeous girl collie???? How many boy collies do you know that look as pretty as me??



However, I was walking slower than a snail on the return route and then, when we got to the big steep hill, that we have to walk up to get to our house; I just stood and looked all pathetic. And what made it worse...................... We met some people we vaguely know, (at the bottom of the hill), and they told Ann she should carry me up. Ann said, 'Molly, I'm not strong enough to carry you all the way up a big steep hill. Even lifting you into the car is a struggle for me.' So we just took it slowly and eventually we got home.



I'm having a snooze now. Walking for almost 2 hours in mega hot weather has exhausted me. And Ann was hoping to sit outside for an hour or so in the sunshine and drink wine, but unfortunately Mr Sunshine has now disappeared. Booohoooo.



BUT...................... what today has taught us is......................... I'm probably going to need a 'doggie stroller' soon. Even though I didn't particularly like my 'test drive' in one; the older I get and the hotter it is.......................... the less I feel like walking.



#lifewithanoldcollieishard

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.