BLIPMEET - Number 3

I was out of the house from 11am until 8pm today and on my feet for most of that time so I was rather tired when I finally got home.

First of all I got the bus to Newcastle.  Was supposed to meet Neil to give him his contact lenses ( he has them delivered to my house ).  While I was on the way to town Neil messaged saying he was running an hour late.  For some reason he " lost an hour" so he couldn't make the meeting time of 11.50am.  He was supposed to be meeting his girlfriend for lunch so he was going to have to put that back for an hour too.  I couldn't hang around to meet up as I was on my way to a blipmeet so we arranged to meet at 4.30pm.

Next I got the Metro to Manors and waited for my fellow blippers to arrive.... Chris ( 60plus  ), Roy ( Mr 60plus ) and Pat ( Shygirl73).  We headed down into the Ouseburn Valley where we were booked for a tour of the Victoria Tunnel.

The Victoria Tunnel is a preserved 19th century waggonway under the city from the Town Moor to the Tyne, built to transport coal from Spital Tongues  Colliery to the river and operated between 1842 and the 1860s. The Tunnel was converted in 1939 into an air raid shelter to protect thousands of Newcastle citizens during World War 2. There were 15 of us on the tour - wearing hard hats and carrying torches. The tunnel is about 6'3" high and 7' wide- its damp and muddy and the temperature in there is 12 degrees. There were two guides who told us all about the history of the tunnel.  It was all very interesting.  The tour lasted two hours - lots of walking involved. I didn't get any decent shots in the tunnel but if you look at Chris's entry she has some good photos.

After the tour we adjourned to The Ship In which is nearby.  My blip shot was taken outside the pub - Roy, Chris and Pat. 

I had to leave around 4.15pm to get the bus back to Newcastle to meet Neil.  However that meeting didn't happen.  He messaged saying that he was back at home with ice on his sore knees.  His morning run had taken its toll.  He suggested I go to his house to give him his lenses.  So that's what I did.  He did manage to go with me to the nearby Aldi so we could buy food for our tea.  He cooked some salmon which we had with salad.  We watched  TV - as usual when Neil is in charge of the remote we watched " The Big Bang Theory ".  He must have seen every episode at least 10 times.

Later on Neil walked me to the bus stop to get my bus home.  Had to change buses at the Metrocentre.

So a busy day - and my 3rd blipmeet in 9 days. 

Steps today - 18.534

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.