Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Blip 2800

Remember the days when you could bring your coins to the bank, they would total it and give you the cash?  Then there was your ability to wrap your coins on your own, the bank teller would weigh each roll and give you your cash?  You can still wrap them but certain banks don't make it easy for yu to cash them in.  So, what's left is called Coinstar.  Dump your change into the machine, which totals it and automatically keeps 12% of your money.

I thought (hoped) my coins would have totaled more than they did since I  had been tossing my change into the same container for ten years.  Mom and I took turns doing the dumps.  Before the 12% was extracted I came up 13¢ short of $200.  Not a bad haul but not exactly enough for an around-the-world vacation.

I had a couple hours home alone earlier in the day because I had Mom ready to walk out the door when the caregiver arrived.  they went to a couple of thrift shops and she gratefully came home empty handed.  That break gave me enough get-up-and-go for me to take her out to run a few errands: grocery shopping and haircuts.  So much for the money from the Coinstar!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.