Numbers

Since the inclusion of back blips when calculating the overall number of blips, which means that 12 September is no longer my "annual blipday" (and of course, with leap years counting forward 365 days at a time was always going to produce some anomalies...), I've prized rather more achieving round numbers.

Like 3000.

2500 was quite fun. It was a late spring/early summer day last year, and the day was long enough for me to push for us to go out and chase a sunset (which was achieved partially). I also made quite an effort with 1000, and 500 was a bit of nonsense. It took me a while to locate 2000, and I'm not sure it was worth the bother. I was feeling depressed after a lovely long winter holiday in Spain and France. 1500 took even longer to find; that was during a lovely month long stay in Zadar in Croatia.

Well, today I thought I would give you some numbers. This is my 134th #leithwalkshops blip, which is the largest number of any specific kind of blip I've taken. It's the series I'm most pleased to have done, as it represents some kind of social history of Leith Walk, which is particularly important now that the bottom of the Walk is threatened with some 'very unwanted' redevelopment. In fact, right next to what is a very hipster bagel shop (you wouldn't have found this on the Walk a few years ago...) is one of the signs protesting this new development, and the impact on the new shops, of which this is one. We'll get some shops in the ground floor of the new development, for sure. But they won't be this kind of shop. They will be chains and franchises.

3000 is quite a number - although they are not all consecutive. I've only been blipping consecutively since 12 September 2010, but I have inserted a few backblips before that. I went swimming today, and managed 50 lengths. So it's 60 times that. My 50 lengths amounted to something over 1km, so it's nearly 3 times that. 3000 metres was quite a stretch for me in walking, just after I'd had my operation, but of course it's easy peasy now, in particular since I do feel I've finally conquered the sciatica related set backs.

Blipping is very much part of my life. That's why so many of my little triumphs and failures are recorded here. I cannot imagine a day without taking at least one photograph and making an entry, however short or sparse. I've made some great friends through Blip, and I am very grateful to those who set the site up and in particular those who keep it going now. Long may it continue! I'll certainly be here for another 3000, provided Blip is still here. Fingers crossed.

Oh, by the way, I stuck some photos on flickr from the weekend. I really must do something about the backlog of Australia and Singapore photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.