Dryer Drama

I arrived back from Denver this morning and had a short nap before having to get up and be ready for a very important delivery.

A few weeks ago I bought a new washing machine after my old one had a dramatic death. About two weeks later my dryer then ‘almost died’, but my amazing friend Rhod kindly nursed it back to life. However, having had it repaired several times already, I decided I wasn’t going to wait for it to die completely, but to replace it now. I confidently decided to order the matching dryer to complete the ‘set’, only to discover how naive I was. I’m shocked because 1. Unlike the US, washers and dryers are not sold as an (optional) set, and 2. It’s taken me 26 years of living in the UK to realise this!

So after a bit of a drama with John Lewis, I finally took delivery today of my new dryer - not an exact mate to my washing machine but close enough. My friend Rhod actually wanted to take the old one off my hands as he felt there was still life in it, so I arranged for him to come just before the new one was delivered today. Good thing he was there because when the guys did the installation of the new machine we discovered that the standard sizes are not so standard after all. There was no way it was going in. I’m not sure what I would have done without Rhod to rescue me!

Thankfully, he saw a solution - there was an old piece of wood trim at the back which no longer served any purpose. So he got busy with a hammer and a chisel and soon my dryer was in place (See Extra photo for the final result). The drama continued however when we discovered that the delivery guys had mistakenly taken away the old dryer when they were supposed to have left it for Rhod to take home. You can’t make this stuff up!

It was the most glorious warm autumn day here and I spent most of it indoors either sleeping or dealing with appliances, so once everyone had left I made a beeline to the lake and had a peaceful, gentle walk. I even remembered to bring a flask of tea which I enjoyed while watching the birds and the sunset. Very calming.

The fatigue from my trip finally hit me this evening and my throat started feeling a bit scratchy. I hope all I need is a good nights rest!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.