The state of that view

I take pictures of the skyline from the balcony quite regularly. Always different, of course, because of the light. But in the case of this view, of course, the gradually developing buildings. I noticed today when we went into town that there are now some substantial concrete lift shafts which are rather close to the back of Register House as part of the St James development. I guess it will be years before the cranes are gone. Before blipping this, I had to check back to see whether I'd already "OD-ed" on this view during my rather chaotic autumn, but I see there are just a few photographs of it in my journal, and the one close up of the cranes was in very different weather conditions to today.

A good and useful Sunday. First thing, we packed up some books in Ikea bags and used a taxi to get into town, where the books were deposited in my office and Mr A was given a wee guided tour of the new Old College. We popped into the Library where the books are in the process of being moved now, prior to re-opening a week on Monday, and he was suitably impressed by the attention to detail. I was going to a blip a photograph of the Library's new occupation of the Senate Room, but in the end I put that in the extras. The photograph was taken through a glass screen so there is a bit of reflection on it.

Our next stop was the Robert Blomfield exhibition at the City Art Centre, which I found really impressive. I found it particularly moving to watch the film made by Stuart Edwards surrounded by the street photographs of Edinburgh. Amongst the comments on the film on the vimeo site is this (made it seems by Blomfield's sister): "A gentle film about my brother's work of caring observation. Robert says that your film making was a natural process of gentle spontaneity. The result is a fine study of a portfolio." I love the expression "a natural process of gentle spontaneity". A super piece of film making to go alongside the portfolio of works. I hope the hurly burly of life between now and March doesn't preclude finding time for a further visit.

After that, we feasted on scones at Milk in the Fruitmarket, and then toddled across to Lakeland to buy a roasting tin. Back here, I've done the preparation for making a Thai curry in due course.

So that's two things ticked off the to do / wish list this weekend. Well three actually, if you also include getting the rest of the books that belonged in OC up there in one go. Good stuff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.