Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The joy of reading aloud

My friend, Ann, brought one of her 11 grandchildren to see us this morning. This is Lucy who is 8 and an ace reader. Here she is reading from Roald Dahl's Dirty Beasts for the first time. She puts expression into the voices.

We had a lovely time with them.

Then I had a walk out to Haughton Mains Farm, going 2 more field widths than before.

The other Marjorie brought Jenny this afternoon. Jenny is a dear friend who has dementia. Her short term memory is shot but she enjoys every moment she lives in. When you get her talking about things she knows, she is just like her old self. 

I served profiteroles as an early birthday treat (for me) and we had a lovely time.

Tonight we caught up with Les Miserables. It's a hard watch and I fear it will not end well for anyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.