Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Another "small world" moment

Today I was at the Hearth at Horsley for a workshop on Dogs and Cats, using the Staffordshire potteries animals as inspiration. I have never really liked these statues, but I had a terrific day. (Organised by Mandy Patullo who is an excellent and inspiring teacher.)

We each had a piece of old wool quilt to work on. Alison, in my blip, did something quite different from most people. My piece is of two cats sitting side by side and is inspired by a photograph of Oscar and Daisy taken not long after they arrived in this house. See here

I will show you the piece when it is finished.

Now, here is the small world moment. Alison and I had never met each other before and just happened to sit at the same table.  We are both from Sunderland. We both lived in the ABC streets. I was in Colchester (for C) and she was in Dunbar (D). We both went to Bede School. (I'm old enough to have been there when it was still a grammar, although it became a comprehensive when I was 16.) Alison used to go to Sunderland Embroiderers' Guild, which Mum attended for years. Alison remembers people talking about Rene Baillie.

We had a lovely time chatting as we sewed.

Mum and I watched Call the Midwife tonight. Who else wants May to stay with the doctor and his wife??

Arth is still swollen so I'm hoping that another night's sleep will help him to settle down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.