Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The delights of Haltwhistle Burn

A deep gorge holds a small burn that wends its way down the hill towards the old houses of Haltwhistle. It is a lovely place at any time of year. Today I fancied pushing myself just a little, so I drove to Haltwhistle and walked from the town centre up the path beside the burn. Haltwhistle Burn

There was no wind and it was very quiet at first. The birds soon started singing and shouting and the sepulchral calm was shattered. I met 7 people during my walk and had some good chats. One woman had a friendly terrier who is at least 17 years old. He was on good form. A couple from Durham might come to the festival.

I walked and stopped and snapped and looked and enjoyed. It was hard to chose the image for my blip, but it was a great pleasure to see the pussy willow out. (This is handheld, 5 images and focus stacked.)

There were more coltsfoot than I've ever seen. The wood anemones had their flowers tucked away because it was dull and cold. I did find a few wood sorrel and was very attracted to the extra.

I thought it would be a monochrome day, but it wasn't! The water in the burn was flowing freely with lovely hints of gold. See second extra.

At home, we hoped for a quiet day, but tree surgeons were busy nearby from early until late. The cats disappeared and stayed away until later.

I walked nearly 3 miles today and Arth was well behaved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.