Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

In and around Humshaugh - evening walk

This morning I washed all the glass shelves in the china cabinet, washed or dusted the ornaments as appropriate and put them all back inside. Another job done. Tick.

Liesbeth, a friend from the village, came to see Mum and to see my new kitchen. She gave me advice on paint colours when I was agonising about what to use. I didn't follow her advice, but she liked the result.

Then I did my usual trip to Hexham to the garage for diesel, the tip to offload more junk, the charity shop to donate loads of stuff and the supermarket to feed us.

This evening I decided to try a longer walk. It was a gorgeous evening and the light was lovely even when the sun had set. The recent rains mean that all the paths are very overgrown, which made it hard going.

Not much further on from my photo, I was climbing up a small hill in a dark field. I realised I was not alone. The most confident cow was quite close and was very inquisitive. There were about 15 boys, some fairly young. They seemed very tame and were not put off when I opened my sticks and shooed them. Before I reached the gate, I let the first one come close and he licked my hand. Sweet.

Later, on another farm, there were more cows, calves and bullocks than I have ever seen in the field there. I did not spot the bull, who would be in there. The cows set up quite a bellowing as I disturbed their peaceful evening! It was no problem to walk around the edge of the field and avoid them all. Fortunately I like cows.

Arth had to have an ice pack on our return, but I think he is OK.

PS How did I forget to say that walking festival bookings opened this morning. Booking was brisk and some walks are almost fully booked. Exciting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.