Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Alder near Bellingham

It was another lovely day, so I decided to go to Bellingham and try to iron out a bit of the route for the Literary Walk in the Festival. This is the one where people will write short stories inspired by what they see/hear/feel.

The river North Tyne overflowed its banks at the weekend and part of the riverside path was underwater. It was not too bad and I made it without wet feet.

All went well until I had to cross a very rough field going downhill. Anyone in the walking group will tell you that I have the nickname of Bogtrotter, after the wet, boggy walks I've led. This was heavy going and Arth was not too happy about it. The rain suddenly came down too, making it hard to see where I was going. I need an alternative stretch of route for the fiction walkers. I'll have to think about that. The other glitch is ironed out!

My blip was taken by the riverside where I found a few alders. The shield bug has photobombed the picture!

Two pieces of furniture went today: a dining table and an ottoman. We have a little more space, but still more furniture to get rid of.

Oscar allowed Mum to stoke him today. More progress!

Did you know that the dye made from alder was used by Robin Hood and co to camouflage their clothes? Also the roots are favoured by otters for nesting. Alder improves the soil because it provides sugars to a symbiotic bacterium on its roots. The bacterium gives nitrogen to the tree. It's a win win.

No, I did not know all this. It came from the internet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.