Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

In and around Humshaugh - harvest

The wheat in the field behind my house has finally been cut. It is not the last field around the village, but I have noticed that this one is usually cut at the end of August/beginning of September.

There was one memorable year when we had a garden party in our garden on the Saturday and the field was cut on the Sunday. A close shave for us! It's a noisy and dusty business. I was mainly editing Bellingham Show photos today and sorting out the study to the background drone of the combine.

You can't see our house. It is up at the top of the field and there are trees between me with the camera and the house.

You can see the black clouds gathering in my photo. Not long afterwards the rain came. It was far too hot for a waterproof, so I ended up soaked by the time I returned home, from glowing that is. (Those of us who read Under the Greenwood Tree for O level, or are Hardy aficionados will understand this literary allusion!)

There was a hint of a rainbow.

I've loved editing the photos and it's time now to send them off to the Show organiser.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.