Strawhouse

By strawhouse

8th Red Balloon

Eight years of Blipping!
It doesn't seem that long but this one was only just walking when I started.
Miss E wasn't even at pre-school and in a few weeks she'll be starting secondary school.
Time flies.
And the reason I don't stop Blipping - despite living in a perpetual time warp and wracking my brains to remember what happened three, four, five, ten weeks ago!! - is that it's a way to hold on to all those hundreds of thousands of memories - big and small. From wedding days and first days at school, to the dog walks and trips to the post office. A snapshot of our life for the last eight years.

I wrote this a couple of years ago:

It really doesn't seem that long since the first one!
As has become normal for me I'm posting this three days after the photo was taken. I live in a perpetual time-warp! 
I like to think it will help stave off Alzheimers having to remember what I did days ago!!
Sometimes I'm tempted to stop. When I'm a week behind and it feels like a chore I wonder why I have to catch up and fill in the gaps. Why not just start on the current day and let the other days go unblipped? The world won't stop spinning!!!
But then I read back through; flick to a certain date and smile at the memories. Or cry, laugh, cringe, or feel proud,
And that's what keeps me doing it! The memories and the emotions in the thousands of pictures and the hundreds of thousands of words.
So many things that would be forgotten forever. 
It wouldn't always matter if they were forgotten but it's so much better that they're not!!
My little corner of Blip has got smaller and smaller as my journal has become more personal and less social. I do miss the community aspect of it that I felt in the first few years. 
First few years!!! I never imagined I'd be writing that when I celebrated my first milestone - 100 Blips - back in 2011.
I don't comment on journals as much as I used to. Or as much as I'd like. There never seems to be time! There are some that I read every day, some that I dip in and out of, some that I am always pleased to see after absences.
It's a habit, a pleasure, a chore; a part of my day I can't imagine being without!


It all holds true except for now I'm generally weeks behind rather than days. 
One day I'll catch up......


Not much to report about today. Miss L is still at school for another couple of days and Miss E and I had a lazy day doing nothing. Lovely!!


Red Balloon Days:
Seven years
Six years
Five years
Four years
Three years
Two years
One year

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.