Happy New Year!

After a very subdued Hogmanay evening (quietly reading/watching TV, 1 beer) we got the girls up at 11.45 to see the Souled Out fireworks. You could hear the countdown so we joined in and then 10  minutes of spectacular, and very loud, pyrotechnics with other lights further away over Bangsar. There were also some environmentally unfriendly sky lanterns. We have fizz (chosen for the bottle, not the contents) and then bed. 2020 underway.

I had a short (20 minutes?) swim in the morning followed by a lie in the warm sun. Then off to Subang for New Year's Day lunch with the Ng sisters. There were 6 out of the 11 there, plus 1 brother, 4 husbands, 7 offspring, 2 spouses of offspring and the girls and me. It was an international buffet - Chinese, Indian, Malay and western food and partly as an early celebration for my birthday tomorrow. At the end there was a birthday cake made by Catherine and singing of 'happy birthday'. I was glad I'd brought, and worn, a dress! And I got presents from my adoptive Malaysian family. The extras are of the immediate family with the cake and me and 5 of the sisters. #4 is missing. We had a stop off on the way home at Oon's house in USJ, North Subang Jaya. A very happy family New Year's Day.

Back in Mont Kiara a swim with the girls and then a quiet seat on the balcony with my book. Definitely don't need food!

Edit:  It seems important to record that 1.1.20 was the day that the news of a news SARS type disease in China was shared with the world. 2 years on we are still trying to live with it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.