Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The last blooms

Four weeks and 2 days ago, I was presented with a lovely bouquet of flowers by the Haltwhistle Walkers. I blipped it after 19 days and I'm blipping it again today, when the remaining flowers deserve a long service medal! 

This time they are in the kitchen and a different lighting arrangement, but you can see that the carnation is the one that is lasting better than any others.

This morning I went to a lovely drinks party at Clare and Anne's house, just down the village. A lot of the usual suspects were there and we had a good time nibbling party food and enjoying a few drinks.

I needed to go to sleep after lunch, but I reckon that was because of the late night I had on New Year's Eve, nothing to do with wine at lunchtime!

This afternoon, the other Marjorie came and entertained us with lively conversation. Some of her medical ideas are not quite in line with mine, so we have fascinating debates. Today she told me about a set of forceps used to calm horses. I've looked it up and it is the lip twitch. Marjorie thinks that pressure on the upper lip reduces her hay fever by a similar mechanism (although just with the hand, not with a lip twitch, I hasten to add). I remain to be convinced and use a beclomethasone spray myself. I have very interesting friends.

Tonight Mum and I will catch up on a quiz or two and relax.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.