Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The snow came

Overnight we had a significant fall of snow. Nothing like in other parts of the world, or even other parts of the UK, but it was beautiful, soft snow.

I was in a Zoom coffee morning with the Tynedale Photo Group. It was lovely to see everyone and catch up on their lives over the holiday period. It varied from very happy things to some sad ones.

When the meeting ended, I was champing at the bit to go out . I headed down through the village and found that there were some rather slippery bits to negotiate. I walked on the tarmac in the areas cleared by traffic for most of the way to the river.

Here you see the River North Tyne on the other side of the bridge from the weir (see yesterday's blip). I did not expect this to be my chosen image, but I like the way the snow is highlighting the outlines of the bare branches of the trees.

Hector was with me and had a chance to ride a reindeer. See extra. Santa and his sleigh are outside the George Hotel, sadly still closed due to coronavirus.

I walked to the old Roman bridge abutments and greeted the hungry sheep in the fields around.

Back at home, we watched the final of Christmas University Challenge and were pleased that the Courtauld won. What a lovely team, who all contributed.

Spiral starts again tonight. I wonder if they can make a good final series. Let's hope so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.