Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A perfect match/Paddington Station

Many of you know that I love tulips. I bought my first bunch a few days ago. They are mixed colours with reds and red/yellows along with the yellow and purple. 

When I was thinking about how to blip them, I realised that the yellow and purple would go well in front of the blinds in my (nearly) new kitchen.

I had plans for the study clearing out project today. First I was going to clear the dining room of boxes for the charity shops. Then I was going to the tip with the various boxes of rubbish I've amassed, including 6 sets of Christmas tree lights (one of ours and five from another family member). Then to the charity shops.

It all seemed quite straightforward.

This morning was partly taken over with the walking festival. Bookings opened today and are terrific. I had to book some more walks for myself. By this afternoon two walks were fully booked. One is the Bird Watching walk, which nearly always sells out on the first day. (It's like watching Sunderland trying to do the fastest count in the general election.) I'm not directly involved any more but I was still excited as the bookings came in.

I was on the phone for a while. Mum had a nosebleed - which she dealt with herself while I was on the phone. A parcel was delivered. Then the district nurse arrived unexpectedly to do a general check on Mum. That took more time than we expected and she was in a hurry to get to her clinic (and returned later in the afternoon).

Liz arrived just as I was packing the car to go. By now it was mid afternoon. It was fine when I set off, but the heavens opened with stinging, sleety rain when I was at the tip. I had to come home because I was so wet, despite waterproofs. No charity shop today.

Margret next door arrived and I had no time to chat to her. I was off the the surgery for my asthma check up. (The district nurse arrived just then.)

The fish and chip van was outside the surgery, so I brought fish and chips home for our meal tonight.

We finally managed to sit quietly for Only Connect and University Challenge.  The Corpus team are great fun to watch.

And so to bed...........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.