Amish Horse and Buggy at Fort Roberdeau

First things first: this is Blip number 3,000 for me, so it's a big day! Thank you for coming by to help me celebrate this milestone!

My husband and I had errands to run in Altoona, and on the way home, we took a back road that went past Fort Roberdeau. It was a beautiful, mild, sunny afternoon. March was coming in like a lamb and we were loving it. So we stopped for a short hike.

We were very fortunate. As soon as we got there and got out of the car, we heard the clop-clop-clop of a horse's hooves. I turned to look and there was an Amish buggy; I couldn't really see inside it.

I have seen and photographed buggies before, but it is always slapdash. I'm in a car, looking out, and there is one in front of us or off to the side and I am trying to get a shot, and maybe failing.

But this time, there it was! I was standing on firm ground, holding my camera, and the buggy was going to go right past me! So I happily stood there and took about a half-dozen shots.

Several of them were pretty clear, but I liked the way the light came through the back right wheel on this shot and made a perfect circle on the ground. (Isn't that a silly reason to pick this one? But somehow, that circle made my heart smile.)

I'll include links below to some additional Blip photos featuring our Mennonite and Amish neighbors, for those who are curious about their unique and interesting and perhaps even strange way of life.

Before I close, I'd like to take a minute to thank everyone for all the comments and views on all of my Blips. I love to take pictures. With this camera, I become a rebel against time. Taking pictures is part of how I try to STOP time, to take this beautiful moment and make it last forever.

It is my custom to include a song with each Blip, and so here is a very special one. Neil Peart, the drummer and lyricist for Rush, passed away earlier this year. In his honor, SFC Tim Whalen made an arrangement of the song Time Stand Still for The United States Army Band "Pershing's Own." Here are his words:

"The song is about life moving too fast, due to both things we can control and things we can’t, and the desire to hold onto something just a little longer. This is such a universal message, whether it be children growing up too fast, a loved one dying, or a soldier leaving home wondering if they’ll ever see their family again.” So here they are with a really heartfelt rendition of Time Stand Still. Enjoy!

Bonus: additional Blips featuring Amish and Mennonite neighbors:
Women in motion
Gone fishin'
Cooling off at Bald Eagle State Park
In which I ride the rails! (The adventure begins!)
Summer fun at Greenwood Furnace State Park
The boating party
Belleville, PA: Amish buggy
The Amish boating party

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.