Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Spring brings hope

One of my main strategies to deal with the coronavirus crisis is to go walking when I can. There is plenty of space outside!

This afternoon I went to Acomb Woods. It was still quite muddy underfoot, but I remembered my gaiters (now in the washing machine) and my boots coped well.

This is the first blossom on the blackthorn that I saw. There were more, although all the bushes are still in the early stages of blooming. It's a tiny flower and so very pretty. This was in a shady corner.

In the woods by the river, the wood anemones are in bud. It was dull today, so there was no sunlight to encourage them to lift their heads. That will come.

The woods have taken a bad battering in recent weeks. There are lots of trees down and the debris, from when the river burst its banks, is plentiful, untidy and quite ugly.

There are early signs of wild garlic. I did not find the yellow star of Bethlehem (gagea lutea) but it's probably too early. The celandine is not out either. I did see bright red elf cups. They have orange edges. I did not capture a good enough image to blip them.

It was very peaceful, although the river was boiling in places. I hope the rain goes away for a good month now. The ewes and lambs need a dry period.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.