Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The local milk bar!

I opted for an earlier walk today and it was a good decision. The weather was gorgeous and the birds were singing. I walked along the river path towards Chipchase Castle and saw swathes of wild daffodils blowing in the wind. I intended to blip them (see extra).

A local farmer was spraying the field next to me, so the air had a faintly chemical smell. I hope it was not harmful to walkers!

I was actually the only walker on my 5 mile circuit. Even in the hamlet of Gunnerton, there was not a soul to be seen. 

I had one mini-adventure. I came to a stile beyond which was a stream. The recent floods had caused the bank to be eroded and the stream was too deep to wade across. It was too wide for me to jump. (Arth is no good at jumping, never has been!)

I found a shallow section a little way downstream and crossed. Then I had to climb a wooden fence to return to my path. The first wooden slat gave way under my weight, but I made it and acquired a few scratches from the nearby hawthorn.

Two fields on and the air was full of young bleating. What a lovely sight. I walked very quietly around the edge so as not to disturb any new lambs or ewes in labour.

I realise that I was very fortunate to be able to get out and walk in isolation like this. I find myself counting my steps as I go. When it works well, my mind is cleared as if I am meditating.

Margaret and Brian (across the road) shopped this morning and found me a pack of loo rolls. Well done to them!

Now awaiting Boris' address to the nation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.