The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Easter Renewal

My study, now renamed the Studio, is now cleaned and sorted, after eight whole days (and some nights). I've even rediscovered my desk, and I've got rid of all the cubby holes and annoying bit that originally attached to the top. I want it to be more like a workbench now.

Do I have a great urge to rush in and be creative, since I now have a well-organised craft cupboard ? No, I simply want to tiptoe past in case I mess it up, or just sit in there and enjoy the space.

It was Easter Sunday in the Western Christian tradition, which led to my answering a WhatsApp cry for help in the early morning. A mother desperately needed Easter Eggs for her son, aged eight. Her Internet purchase had been a disaster.. I asked her to pop to collect some chocolate eggs from our step, and while she was there, I thee one of my greetings card catalogues at her. She exclaimed with delight at the papercraft models inside, which gave me the idea of bringing down my boxes of surplus craft materials from my recent clear out. She left with two full carrier bags and tears in her eyes. I felt buoyed up too, though it was peculiar not to be able to hug her. She is one of the parents affected by the recent closure of the Steiner school (for reason unrelated to CoVid) so has been homeschooling for some time.

An awful lot of the rest of the day was spent making the special Christmas ice cream (I know, it's Easter) to my grandmother's recipe, a roast dinner, and a GF lemon drizzle cake, using a lighter recipe involving fewer eggs.
Believe it or not, the sun was actually too hot for us to spend much time outside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.