Capital adventures

By marchmont

Memories

A bit of a cheat this photo as I didn't take it.  It's my mum (95 in July) being interviewed and filmed (at a suitable distance) at home by the BBC for the VE Day commemorations.  She was due to be at the events which have now been cancelled so today the BBC interviewed her on her memories of being a Wren.  Of course it helps that #3 son is organising the revised events for the Scottish Government. She was supported in this by J and D who (shhh!) ignored current advice and had a social afternoon and evening with her.  We're told 'reporting Scotland' and perhaps even 'Antiques Roadshow' will use the footage. 

Meanwhile I was at home, Teaming and Zooming, so tiring.  That was after I'd had my MGW down to the cemetery and back.  It is the 78th anniversary of my dad's cousin's death and he is buried there.  He has a CWGC headstone but I was told he'd died of a non war related illness and I have no idea why he ended up being buried in Liberton.  Whatever, he was not quite 22.  I don't know if my dad knew him well, if at all, but I put some glowers on his grave anyway.  

Later I received an important delivery from fellow, and nearby, Blipper BoydMcAdam who delivered a whole selection of his home grown flowers and veg.  I am such a fortunate person. I know what I'll be doing at the weekend.

12 days gone, 9 to go

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.