Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A tricky day

Not only has it been dark and wet for most of the day, but we have had more to cope with than we has been comfortable. Poor Mum has terrible problems with her eyes and today has been the worst. A speck of something stuck on one cornea and has resisted my best efforts to shift it, despite having local anaesthetic drops to help.

First the district nurse came to take blood. She is the second person we have had in the house since lockdown. I had to stop myself commenting when she kept touching her face mask. It was all done quickly and I'm sure it was fine.

I had a Zoom meeting with Tynedale Photo Group to see the images that would not project on Monday. That was a nice bit of respite.

From then on we have been battling with the eye problems. Mum has a deadline to meet for an embroidery she has made for an exhibition in Jarrow. It has to be posted tomorrow and we could not make progress because of the eyes.......

On 14th June, Christine and Henry brought these roses. I've been hanging on until there was an indoor day to blip them. The partial cup is a special one and I broke it a couple of weeks ago. Mum and Dad were able to buy some lovely crockery when on honeymoon in Edinburgh in 1948. The goods were made for export and were much nicer than the utility ware of the war years. We still have 3 more cups and the saucers and plates. They come out on special occasion.

Over in Portland, the police have been aggressively attacking peaceful demonstrators. I have not seen it on the UK news yet. Kendall is keeping us up to date.

The son of one of my friends has been told his job at Easyjet has gone. Devastating news.

In fact the news has been pretty awful today, so my blip reflects feelings of desolation. Sometimes you have to go with those feelings before more positive ones return. 

One of the roses disintegrated as I laid it on the card to make the image!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.