Capital adventures

By marchmont

Celebrations and commiserations

Mum was 95 today and she got these beautiful flowers from the family in KL.

An odd day and not what was originally planned. Another night of not sleeping well.  This time I listened or slept through the back catalogue of 'Soul Music' on R$.  Highly recommended.  The 'Leaving of Stromness' episode brought Lady Findhorn to mind. 

Molly of course seemed a wee bit righter but we skipped the drugs.  Olivia wanted to say 'goodbye' so there was a call to her at Popo's.  She was very sensible about it and also told me all about her second loose tooth.

The next big event was 'the haircut'.  Of course J arrived when I was in the shower washing the hair but we sat in the kitchen and he clipped and I talked. It was another miserable morning weatherwise but I was glad to have a lighter head. 

Next, down to the Manor.  Mum had loads of cards and looked well.  First of all there were WhatsApp calls to #2 son and Jordan in Penang and the, at the same time (2 phones) to #1 son and family in KL.  Mum was really glad to speak to them all and there were cards and 'happy birthday' singing. A meeting with the College, our new ECSA team, and then a Zoom call to J and friends in France.  There was cake and fizz on both sides.  J unfortunately kept sitting behind the screen and not speaking into the mic.  The flowers arrived just before we Zoomed.

I then went home.  The sun had come out and it was warm so Molly and I sat outside in the sun and I cuddled her.  #3 son came up too and also gave her some love.

Then it was time to go.  The vet was lovely and it was all very peaceful at the end .  i was really glad I'd decided to go at the end of the day.  I stayed till the end and it was just a relief, for both of us.  And I got a refund (credit for the drugs).

Then all back to Mum's for indifferent fish and chips (too much and a bit of a botched delivery).  More flowers had arrived for J and family.  There was also fudge from D, who'd called as had her cousin.  There was certainly a lot going on.

Came home to have a glass of wine, watch some 'Mrs America' and go to bed, relatively early, Exhausted.

Bye bye Molly. You've been such a placid, undemanding pet and companion for the last 9 years, 2 months and 9 days and you will be missed. 

Day 98.  Now I am alone. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.