Garden pit

I have had a fun day.

Rachel and I had planned to meet on Princes Street at 08:00 for a walk round Holyrood Park, but the weather was so shocking this morning that we sheltered in Costa instead. It was great to see Rachel in person for a social chat (rather than in a conference call to discuss her research).

On my way home I bought a few bits and pieces for a surprise parcel for Mummy hazelh. These included a haggis and a huge bar of fruit and nut chocolate. Back at the house, to my purchases I added an embroidered handkerchief (bought at Sallymair's fund raising coffee morning almost a year ago), a small bottle of bubble bath, a book, and a bag of pecan nuts. When everything was securely parcelled up, I popped down to the post office to send off my present on its journey south. 

I returned home (calling at the St Columba's bookshop and the EFI on the way - just looking, you know...) to find Mr hazelh digging this huge pit in the back garden. For the rest of the morning I helped him fill it with all the garden waste that we have been composting in green garden sacks since the spring, as well as the entire contents of our huge kitchen compost barrel. We both enjoyed jumping in and out the pit and squashing down its contents - see the extra.

We had hoped that this exercise might avoid our having to purchase any topsoil for the newly-levelled soon-to-be-lawn, but it looks like we are still going to be a couple of tonnes short.

After lunch and a Carcassonne win (by 1 point - hurrah!) I returned to the garden to plant bulbs, then tidy up - both the garden and myself.

On family Skype tonight I showed Sunday's charity shop purchase to my not-so-little sister. She was impressed.

We see that Who do you think you are? returned to BBC1 on Sunday, so that's tonight's entertainment sorted.

Exercise today: walking and gardening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.