Garden: November foggy morning

I popped upstairs this morning to take this picture of our unfinished garden makeover in the fog. Using the wide angle lens on my iPhone (which tends to exaggerate the size of our wee plot), I have managed to fit in most of the features that have appeared in my journal over the past eight months. I'm pretty sure that I will use this image in the future as a 'before' picture.

The list of major outstanding tasks is as follows:

1. Create the compost boxes to the right of the main steps, then shore up the 'lawn' behind them and the site of the shed - I am hoping that Paddy will do this soon after he and Caitlin move house.
2. Point the big wall. We have contracted a company to do this work and are waiting for a date. This should be before Christmas.
3. Order and lay turf - we can't do this until item 1 is complete.
4. Lay the edging stones across the back and right hand side of the garden so that they are properly in place - at the moment they are just resting in their approximate positions because we don't want to waste any effort on them until the lawn is laid.
5. Install the shed - this will happen in February.

I continued work today on the prep for our conference next week. This included blogging a preview of the event, and writing my introductory slides. I had hoped to go for a run, but by the time I had finished burrowing through my email, I felt it was too late to venture out into the fog.

I slept in the study again last night. I did quite well to start off, but woke very early (again). Although tempted to give up and get up super early, I managed to stay put until it was a reasonable time to put on the kettle and greet the (grey) day (and the grey husband too).

I am very pleased to hear that the COVID19 vaccine trials sound promising, and super-grateful that this news has come out after the US presidential election.

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.