Mourners

Back to work today, so it felt like I was getting up in the middle of the night.  I couldn’t decide whether I should go out for an early walk or not, as I was trying to gauge how slippy it would be.  I eventually took the plunge as it was starting to get daylight, and am pleased to report that my short brisk walk wasn’t slippery underfoot.  It was then back to the laptop.  Emails, video calls, trying to remember what I was doing two weeks ago, and a couple of quick calls to wish colleagues happy new year.  But straight away on my first call of the morning a colleague reminded me that I was on mute.  I haven’t heard that for two whole weeks!!
I managed to fit in a quick lunchtime walk.  I had noticed blue sky during the morning was determined to get out, but by the time I got out, it wasn’t so blue anymore.  Once back I had a bowl of soup and then it was straight back to work.  By the end of the day I was feeling quite shell shocked!  We have an incredibly busy there weeks coming up and there is loads to be done, but I know we’ll get there.  After tea I went for a quick walk, then came back and finished watching Traces.
I walked past his monument today.  These mourners at the bottom of the column looked like I felt at the shock of being back at work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.