Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A walk around the block

I was glad that the promised rain had not arrived when I went out for my walk "around the block". For this walk, I take the  road through the village, then along the Military Road to Chesters Fort, then a long slog (an exaggeration) up the hill to Lincoln Hill and home again.

Halty Bear was with me today but persuaded me that he did not need his balaclava. It was very mild. I walked without my gloves and hat for most of the time. 

Outside Chesters Estate, Halty slipped away and went climbing. He was rather non plussed to find that he was about to slide down the face of a lion and into its jaws.  I rescued him!

I could not stay awake this afternoon and dozed. It would have been better to go to sleep. I made a cheese souffle and then we watched an interview with Anita and Maya Wallfisch from the Royal Society of Medicine to mark Holocaust Memorial Day. I found this very moving, mainly because of what Anita could not say as much as from what she said.

We lit a candle at 8pm.

Some of the stories broadcast today have been very hard to bear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.