Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Jewels in the wood

My walk today was an amble in the woods at Simonburn, just up the valley from us. The burn was in full spate and the water patterns were fantastic. I had a great time photographing them and was sure I would blip one of the images. I was so disappointed when they were just not well enough in focus. Hmm.

I was using a 70 - 180mm lens. It was rather dark in the woods. Thankfully, I photographed some tiny moss sporophytes, covered in tiny water droplets. Considering the lens, it did well. 

I need to return to photograph the water.

Otherwise, we've had a quiet day. I did the RSPB garden bird watch this morning and was disappointed by the low numbers of birds. I may try again tomorrow at a different time. The jackdaws nearly won when 12 of them descended together to guzzle up the suet pellets. They were just beaten by the tree sparrows, 13 of them in the viburnum taking turns on the feeders. Only 2 blackbirds, only 1 siskin, 0 goldfinches, 0 coal tits. Where were they all?

It was a grey and damp day.

Daisy's contribution was to catch a bird and dismember it in my bedroom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.