Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Finally, a frozen bubble!

I've been trying to learn how to produce and photograph frozen bubbles with little success. Today I came much nearer to my aim. It was very cold here, even at 11a.m. when this was taken.

I made a solution with water, Fairy liquid and glycerine. It made gloopy bubbles. Some did not pop immediately. The next challenge was to find a place to put the bubble where there would be back lighting. If you don't do this, the bubbles just look dull and opaque.

A sheltered spot is essential.

This one is on top of one of our rubbish bins by the side of the house.

It was fascinating to see the feathery frosty surface develop.

I did not go for a walk. It was too cold for me today.

I've been knitting another coat for Halty Bear using a pattern made by a friend. I'm at the stage of picking up the fronts, back and sleeves to add a collar. 

I listened to a lecture from the Newcastle University series this afternoon and then looked for the first episode of the new series of Line of Duty, to find it has not been broadcast yet! I was so looking forward to seeing it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.