Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

First trip to Gold Island in 2021

There was a heavy frost last night and freezing fog lingered over the river valley. The sun burnt most of it away, but there was still a nip in the air.

The day started with a Tynedale Photo Group coffee morning. These are always happy meetings when we catch up with each other.

After lunch, I drove to nearby Wark and decided to see if I could cross to Gold Island. It was a wellies job. My wellies did not let in water and were very warm, but one ankle was rubbing. I'm not sure I can do anything to stop that. They are neoprene and very strong.

There are not many snowdrops on Gold Island but there already are signs of the shoots of the bluebells. I enjoyed the peace on the island and stood to watch the coloured reflections in the channel between the island and the riverbank.

Tonight it's been the quizzes. I rather hoped that Birbeck would win UC. They and Strathclyde were both good teams. I managed to answer an OC clue before the contestants. Reading Rider Haggard's She was one of the joys of my adolescence!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.