Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

In the shady garden

We had a strip of garden between our house and Margret's (next door). It was very shady when we arrived; less so now that an enormous tree had to be felled for safety reasons.

The hellebores like it there and are happy to cross fertilise. The result is a range of beautiful colours.

I had a quiet day at home today, catching up on lots of small tasks, but taking it quite easy. I need all my strength ready for Islay next week!

In the garden the snowdrops are still lovely and they have been joined by pulmonaria, daffodils (a few are opening), quince, primulas and bergenia. ( I have tried to remove the bergenia over the years, but it is determined to grow in this garden, so I am giving in gracefully. The flowers are nice, but the foliage gets very large and untidy.)

I finished a little bonnet I've been knitting. It's a cute pattern and I'll knit it again no doubt. 

Caught up on the Archers.

PS There is unexpectedly a place available on the Islay trip. If anyone is interested, it is for 6 days from Sunday coming. Details on Quiet Landscapes site (Margaret Soraya).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.