Skimmia Japonica

Didn't sleep very well.  I think I do seem to be suffering side effects from new blood pressure tablets.  But I did feel better as the day went on so maybe the effects are easing..

Had an appointment at The Freeman Hospital this morning to see a vascular surgeon about my leg problems.  This hospital is across the river on the outskirts of Newcastle.  I would need to catch two buses to get there so I decided to get a taxi just in case buses were late or didn't turn up. 

I enjoyed the journey - nice to go somewhere different for a change.  The route took us through the centre of Newcastle and we passed St James Park - home of Newcastle United.  Good to see the place as its over a year since I've been.

My appointment was for 11am and I had a wait of 25 mins until the surgeon saw me.  I liked her.  She explained everything very well and gave me confidence about what will happen next.  First of all I need to go back to the hospital for ultrasound scans of my legs to check out where the " bad veins " are. Then she will do the Endovenous ablation treatment.  This is an image-guided, minimally invasive treatment. It uses radiofrequency or laser energy to cauterize and close the abnormal veins.   She will do the left leg first as that one is the most painful.  The procedures will be done under local anaesthetic and I will be able to come home afterwards.  Im not looking forward to the procedures but if it helps with the pain that's all that matters.

After my appointment I got a bus into Newcastle and did a bit of shopping in Waitrose.  Then to the Grainger Market.  Went to one of the fishmongers  to buy a pot of fresh dressed crab.  Thats something I have missed this past year as there are no shops in my village who sell it.

When I got home I watched TV for a bit and then had a nap.  Then out into the back garden to find something for Flower Friday.  Very little happening out there but the buds on the  Skimmia Japoinca are starting to open so thats my blip. Thanks to BikerBear for hosting Flower Friday.

Musical link - Its Finally FRIDAY by George Jones

A lovely Facebook Memory came up today - a photo of a blipmeet which took place at The Sage Gateshead on 19th March 2016.  I have added the photo to my Extras.  Looking forward to the time when blipmmets are possible again.

The blippers are ( left to right ) ..... Shaaamie, ME, Shygirl73, meancoast,  GailyWhaley, yeeeeed and davidc

Steps today - 6,910

CORONA CLASSIC - Friday Night Waltz - Kenny Baker & Joe Greene

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.