Serving notice

We went for a walk down Xwaaqw'um. It was a mix of sun and cloud, and the wind is still cold. We went down on the beach, G to sit and enjoy a bit of the sun's warmth and me to take some photos of my favourite rusty ball for Abstract Thursday. I was shooting away when G came over and said, "There's a guy in a uniform coming down the beach." The guy walked over to the old houseboat that had been beached with another one last winter. I blipped them early in December. The other one had been carried back out into the bay by the tide but we noticed this morning that it had been beached again on the other side of the bay, just under the trail through the forest. We speculated that the guy was checking derelict vessels. He was joined by a woman in uniform, then a second woman came down the trail near where we were. We approached her and noticed that she was a Park Ranger. We asked if they were going to start clearing out derelict vessels again. They are. The guy posted a notice informing the owner to remove any personal belongings within sixty days. He had posted the same one on the other beached houseboat. We chatted with the woman for a few minutes before she joined the other two. We didn't want to disturb them, so I'll go back and have a look at the notice next time we're down there. I'm always amazed at the abandoned boats and other junk that people leave behind.  Not a great photo but a follow-up to previous blips.
Extras:  
A twisted arbutus trunk on the trail. I'm very curious to know what would cause the trunk to twist like that.
When I looked out the window this morning, I noticed that the sunlight coming through the trees looked like an extension of the trail through the back of our place. I thought it looked cool.  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.