My Dad

The weather forecast was rubbish for today, but seemed much better than expected.  BB and I headed in a northerly direction today to visit my mum and dad, who we haven’t seen since last July.  The roads were busier than I expected for a  Sunday morning, but at least we didn’t get held up anywhere.  We drove through some rain, but came out the other side and arrived at our destination just in time for lunch.  They were amazed at how tall BB is and at how much he has changed since they last saw him.  Not least because his hair was long and unruly the last time they saw him.  They have made it through the last year safely.  My brother lives nearby so has been in a bubble with them and has done their shopping and sorted out whatever needed to be sorted out.  It sounds like he has been on restricted duties at work so has had plenty of spare time.
After lunch, BB, my dad and I went for a walk.  I had only gone a few yards along the road, when I rushed back to the house for my gloves -  it was so cold.  My dad said we should stick to the roads as they have had loads of rain recently and all the tracks are really wet and muddy.  We investigated the old railway station site outside their village.  Being well outside the village it wouldn’t have been very convenient for passengers, though my dad remembers there was a goods yard which was useful for local farmers.  We retraced our steps and decided to take a path through the woods – which was maybe not our best idea (given what my dad had already said).  There were many wet and muddy bits, but we made it without wet feet, though there were three pairs of muddy shoes to be cleaned.
It started to rain just after tea, so BB and I decided to head home while it was still daylight.  The drive home was not pleasant, through some really awful rain with traffic speeding past.  Once home I watched the last episode of The Pursuit of Love and enjoyed a gin and tonic.
Here is my dad on our woodland adventure.  The extra hangs out in a field with a couple of fancy goats near where my mum and dad live.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.