Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Brief glimpses of the past

I drove to Cramlington today so that Arth could see our superb physiotherapist and I could learn more about how to restore him to full health. You nearly had a view of Arth strapped up in bright turquoise tape for the blip, but I decided against it. He is able to fully extend. There is still fluid in the joint, but I have new exercises to help with this and I feel much more positive.

I wandered into the graveyard around the parish church in the old part of Cramlington. These two graves caught my eye. Details are easier to read in large.

James Brown lost his life along with 75 others in the Burradon pit disaster. It was his first day in this pit, having just transferred to work there. He left a wife with a 5 year old and a 1 year old at home, although the gravestone shows that Isaac, aged 4, died just one month before his father. James appears to have had one more family, if I read the stone correctly. His wife is not buried there.

John Beresford died when he was knocked down by a train. He was a railway drayman. You can see that his daughter died a year later, aged 13. Then other children died. His wife appears to have outlived them all.

I am left wondering about who these people were and how their lives panned out for them.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.