Squirrel-proofed

All the bird feeders in our back garden are now squirrel proof. There is this nut feeder, the new seed feeder that I bought yesterday, and the clear plastic feeder attached to our bedroom window. My contraption over the dish on the bird table is also working.

I sat next to the feeder for much of the day as I read the bulk of Drinks with dead poets by Glyn Maxwell in readiness for our book group meeting tomorrow evening. (I very much enjoyed it - but I suspect that it's an acquired taste). Many birds popped by help themselves to nuts. Sensibly I came indoors when the skies turned black and it started to rain and thunder (and flood - but fortunately no damage here).

This evening Wiebke, Paul, and Jon came over for Catan and supper. The game was very even, and one of the longest ever. I won - eventually. It was a bit of a false victory because we decided that we would stop the game when the oven beeped that the food was ready. I happened to have 9 points at that point. It is highly likely that Paul would have had more points than me with one more throw of the dice. Tonight's menu comprised: bruschetta; salmon with broccoli, asparagus and peas; summer pudding; and a fabulous array of cheeses supplied by Jon.

I will be cooking again tomorrow because I am the one who is hosting our monthly book group meeting.

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.