Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Tree identification - it’s a birch

Maureen and I went for a walk on the South Tyne Trail today. It is a completely flat path and a good one to help Maureen's legs get stronger. She walked very well today - a significant improvement on previously. 

It did rain as we walked. The woods and the verges were lush with growth. I suddenly spotted this garish tree bark and took my one photo of the day. I thought the leaves were alder, but I'm not sure if the bark is or not. I'm sure that at least one of you will know the answer. Yes, you did know and of corse it’s a birch!

This morning Mum had a Zoom coffee morning. Then I washed and set her hair before a quick lunch and off to Haltwhistle. 

I didn't see much tennis today. Maureen and I watched a bit, but we were both keen to be outside and walking.

I washed out my fridge today. I'm not saying it was dirty, but there were one or two mummified carrots in the bottom of the veg drawer!!

PS I have not enhanced the colour in the image at all. You may see some purple patches on the bark. I have no idea what that is either.

PPS Thank you for all your good wishes for Mum. The cellulitis is not any worse today so I hope the infection is beginning to settle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.