Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

More visitors

- and the sorry tale of the lemon drizzle cake!

After producing a cake yesterday that was significantly overdone singed on the edges, I set out this morning to make another. Thankfully I had more lemons.

Cake number 2 looked a good colour, but it did not rise. I had used plain and not self raising flour. What?!

I seemed to have run out of caster sugar, but found some in a container in the back of the cupboard. This time the cake, number 3, rose beautifully, but I have to admit it was on the dry side at the edges.

Perhaps I will make something different next time.

Our visitors were Rachel and Richard. Richard is the minister at Silksworth Methodist Church in Sunderland. Mum sees their YouTube services and attends Zoom coffee mornings and an evening Bible study with this congregation.

We had a lovely afternoon with them. They were polite about the cake..... Richard even had a second piece.

Later I made a ginger apricot chicken recipe. This was not a success either. I followed the instructions, but the quantities did not work for me. There was far too much thyme in the casserole and it obliterated the other flavours. Cornflour was used as a thickener, but there was too much and it made a gloopy sauce. Fortunately there were no visitors for the evening meal.

Perhaps I'll stick to eggs tomorrow! I will certainly use my own judgement on quantities next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.