Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Urban walk in Newcastle

Julie led 10 intermediates on an urban walk around our favourite city.

It was a hot and muggy day. I wore trainers and expected to be comfortable, but my feet were hot and hurt from early on. Oh how I wished they would just go away and let me enjoy the walk!

We managed to walk in quite a few of the city's parks and we walked past the most famous one - St James' Park. Outside I snapped Alan Shearer. I was amazed to find that he was born only in 1970 making him 18 years younger than me!

The city skyline has changed hugely in recent years. There are lots of places where new and old coexist. One is shown in the extra.

We ate at Unos near the Tyne Bridge. By now we were 7 and on 2 tables. We ordered our drinks first, but the others received theirs about 10 minutes before us. Same with the food. Was it something we said?? (Reminds me of a certain Biblical saying!)

The food was great and we had a good natter.

On the train home, all the windows were open and we wore masks. I could not hear what Roy was saying to me. (Perhaps that's why the two teenagers on the opposite table removed their masks for the journey. Sigh.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.