A Braw Day Out

I had a much better night and a good swim, though for some reason the pool is always busy on a Thursday.

Day off but I knew I had work to do but...it's a day off. The forecast was much rain later so I set off to do something I haven't done since cousin J was here from Oz about 6 years ago, climb Arthur's Seat. However, least you think I'm one of these blippers who cycles the Braids at dawn or traverses 17 miles on foot across Edinburgh, I'm not. They've reopened the high road 3 days a week and I drove to Dunsapie. It was still a fair pull up from there not helped by the fact that my niggling sciatic nerve was objecting, Well that's my excuse.

And it was busy. Few locals, I heard English, Welsh, Polish amongst other accents. You do get a great view and though windy it was warm, no jacket. Going up is bad enough but I really hate going down, even with my walking pole. All goes back to a scare on the Berwick Law when I was a kid.

There were black clouds threatening but they came to nought. Next stop was Portobello. I walked along the Prom and had lunch beside the beach at Miro's. It was 20 deg and there were people swimming. The sun even came out so it was very pleasant. I came back along the High Street passed the places my gt gt grandparents lived and worked. The extra is off Samiston Lodge where gt gt grandmother lived at the end of the 19th century, though she rented, not owned.

Home via Cameron Toll for shopping and to hand my sad specs into Specsavers to be fixed.

Once home I watered the pots of sweet peas and the pots at the front, the forecast deluge not having materialised. It was still very warm. And I did the work that I'm glad I didn't do this morning.

After lunch out (the affagato was esp good) no need to cook but I finished the Bara Brith, watched 'Yesterday' and sewed. It's nearly finished.

Was a good day even if my right leg is still tingling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.