Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Superheroes in Hexham

I was due to walk with the long walkers today, but I decided that discretion was the better part of valour and did not go. It's amazing how the time flies when you have to talk to the marquee people and the caterer and so on. The one special diet is sorted as is a lift for someone who does not drive much these days and could not come from North Yorkshire. 
I think we now have the right number of chairs for the marquee. If it is a fine day, the sides of the marquee will be rolled up and the audience for the entertainment can spill into the garden. If not...........

I hear that various guests have made their umbrellas. With that in mind, I went to Hexham to buy prizes for that competition. As I arrived, a large group in costumes and with masks were heading past the Abbey. I thought it might be Extinction Rebellion. I found a parking place and hot footed it into The Sele to see what was happening.

It was a summer holiday group organised for teenagers in Newcastle by Jesmond Parish Church. They had a day out in Hexham and had to find their leaders, all superheroes, scattered around the town. These two are characters from Marvel comics. Obi Wan Kenobi was disappointed when I did not recognise him!!

As I was leaving, Margaret (across the road) and Brian were arriving to have lunch at the Abbey Refectory so I joined them. Brian and I had bacon sandwiches. Very good they were too.

I went to M & S and then came home. Rosemary was here chatting to Mum. Annette and Caroline had been here earlier and Margret (next door) arrived later.

Busy old day.

PS Thank you all for your good wishes for Mum and her migraine. It passed off as the day went on and she is fine again now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.