Morning Delayed

It was a dismal
start to the day, I postponed
mine until it cleared!

~ carliewired

At 7 AM I was reminded why I don't live in Vancouver. Looking out over the valleys I could see hanging clouds in gloomy skies.I have decided I don't need to do mornings like this. I went back to bed for 3 hours.

10 AM was much improved. As I drove down the hill I could see small patches of blue sky and it was 6 C. I was most encouraged!

I parked near the tennis courts in Riverside Park. To my surprise, there was a game of pickle ball underway. I walked to the pier to release my quilted heart on the fence nearby. Out on the pier I took a look to the north to see my house in Batchelor Heights was already in sunshine. I looked west to see the fall colours beside the north end of the Overlander Bridge. On the foreshore, the gulls had taken over a sandbar. They were the only birds I could see this morning. I walked the loop alongside the rose garden where a curious squirrel came out from behind a tree. One of the maple trees had dropped some leaves on the wet pavement. I headed back to my little red bomber where the pickle ball game was still in play. 

From across the city I could hear quilting fabric calling to me. It was looking for a good home and I was just the right quilter. I dropped into my favourite quilting store and was home for lunch with my new, beautiful fabric. 

This afternoon I will be purchasing tires with my daughter. Then, it's back to the fabric! 

We were promised a day of clearing and a high of 11 C. The weatherman has kept his word. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.