Light and Shadow

The play of light and 
shadow can create very
interesting shots

~ carliewired

My first photo off my deck at 8 AM did not really encourage me to go out today. Sunrise was hardly noticeable. There was just a slice of the sun coming in between layers of cloud. We'd had the forecast of a day with showers. The wind was really whipping around the house. 

At the coast, they've been battered with a storm. There were power outages in several areas and a great deal of rain with a risk of thunderstorms. We'd be getting the tailend of that weather system. 

I ventured out dressed in layers to drive to Tranquille near Kamloops Lake. The colour has been drained from the landscape now. Most of the deciduous trees are bare. There isn't much activity on the pond, but the pastures are filled with Canada geese forming up and grazing the fields. 

I stopped to watch a Canadian National train coming into the city from the coast. It was a very long train stacked with containers. I imagined all the Christmas presents they would hold. The engineer opened his window and waved. I waved back. 

I took photos of Tranquille with an interval of about 15 minutes. The change in lighting was surprising. The wind continued to blow the clouds about letting the sun peek through. The light and shadows danced in turn. 

I'm home today and hope to put something yummy in my crockpot. I can enjoy the aroma while I'm sewing.

We should have a high of 10 C today with a chance of showers. We might expect of low of 0 C overnight with clearing. Snow flurries tomorrow?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.