Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A changeable day on Orkney

I have decided not to call this morning’s weather challenging but to call it out as horrible. We drove to the east and visited the Hoxa Gallery. The tapestries and rugs there are truly amazing, but I think we all hoped that one of the artists would talk and demonstrate. A few people bought things.

On to the Italian Chapel. It is amazing but you just need a short stay.

Lunch was in the mini bus by one of the Churchill barriers. It was still wild but it stopped raining so we could go down to the beach and use our cameras.

Then to a lovely jewellery centre at The Kirk. I treated myself to a pair of earrings called Scapa Flow!

By then it was too late to go to Kirkwall as planned. Back in Stromness a few of the group went to the Community Centre. I took camera and tripod to photograph in the wet, dark streets.

The internet no longer works in my bedroom and I am dependent on it!!

Thank you all for putting the photo of the Ring of Brodgar onto the first popular page. I’m so glad you all liked it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.