A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

From St Paul’s

I received these items the other day in the post. Foolishly, when I visited the shop on our London trip, I didn’t buy anything and then wished I had so ordered on line.
They are building an area in the cathedral as a permanent ‘Remember Me’ lobby for all those who have died from Covid 19 to be recorded and a place for families to visit. These candles, scented with frankincense, are a limited edition sold to support the campaign. (The photo shows the lid on the candle)

The glass bauble was so much nicer than all those with St Paul’s inscribed on them. They are fair trade from a company called Bethlehem Baubles. The information states ‘ Hand blown in Hebron by Muslims using recycled glass and hand painted by Christians in Bethlehem.’ I thought both were lovely and well worth supporting.

Today, after Pilates, I had my 2nd appointment of the week at the opticians. All good, don’t need new glasses at the moment. Interestingly my pressures weren’t too high, maybe those new drops are already working their magic. 
Slipped in an extra phone appointment with the Dr as my Pilates teacher was concerned about the lump on my leg, which happened two weeks ago when I walked into the dishwasher door. I must admit I thought it would have gone down by now. My friend took me over to the Pharmacist who thought the Dr should take a look. As I had to go to the surgery to give them my new eye drop prescription I decided to ask. Telephone appt arranged.
I have to say that the pharmacist, Dr’s receptionist, Dr, opticians assistant and the optometrist, as well as my lovely friend and my Pilates teacher have all been wonderful today. Dr didn’t seem too worried about the lump but suggested I rest my leg!! So all good news.
The only depressing thing today was Keighley town centre. It must be two years since I was there at the opticians, I used to go every week to M & S. Now there are so many places boarded up. M & S of course closed several years now, the Co op which was like a dept store, Thorntons Chocolates, Cooks travel agent, Wilds bakery and more. I probably won’t go again until my next opticians appt! Sad

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.