Hoping for Sunshine

A grim start to the
day weatherwise - I can hope
for a brighter day

~ carliewired

I was on my way to the post office just after 9 AM. It was - 2 C and the sun was trying very hard to make an appearance.

By 10 I was parked in McArthur Island's north side with my breakfast at the ready. I walked to the north entrance picking my way through ice and snow. The resident ducks were gathered around a small trickle of open water in the slough. I really feel sorry for the poor things. I got a shot of the Canada geese along the walkway. They've found green grass and it seems to be making them very happy. The sun was peeking out making light and shadow around them. I found the remnants of a small snowman along the walkway. He'd already lost an arm. 

I drove past the Butterfly Garden and the foot bridge very slowly. Last week a local photographer posted a photo of a lynx in this area. Unfortunately, he also gave the location so this area is now swarming with photographers with mega gear, folding chairs and take-out coffee. We had the same situation last year. I will avoid this area like the plague. 

(Last year's lynx - https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2812858619425457888 )

I drove on to the south side of the park to see the parking lot ducks. They congregate where they are being fed, I'm sure. I pulled into the parking area very carefully so as not to run over any ducks. When I stopped and rolled down the window for a shot, they began to move towards me like zombies in a bad movie. I got my shot and took my leave. 

I took my breakfast home and arrived back just in time to see the sun emerge. 

I will be out looking at flooring this afternoon with N. He is the guy in the know. I so appreciate his expertise. 

We're supposed to be enjoying a mainly sunny day but it is slow coming. The high today is to be 2 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.