Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

It's Wednesday, so it's the Whistle Walkers

Our friend BJ from California, see extra, calls us the 'Whistle Walkers and loves coming with us whenever she is in the UK. She returns to Mill Valley, San Francisco next week.

We were two of a group of 30 walkers who completed a 7.6 mile circular walk from Brampton Mote via Talkin Tarn and the Capontree today. Arth did well, but was upset by any slight descent. I was ecstatic.

There were so many people to catch up with. The grey, cold weather did not dampen spirits one iota. While we ate lunch by Talkin Tarn, three young people tried to launch a kite with no success. Christine sent Henry (an electrical engineer) to help. I'm afraid his attempts also failed, but he had a very good go!

I called at Maureen and Brian's on my way home to sort out Words with Friends. I forgot that years ago, I made a one off payment to rid the app of adverts. If you want to set it up now, it is £6.99 a month. Scandalous inflation. Hopefully, Maureen's adverts will not bother her too much in the original version of the game.

Mum and I watched the third place play off in Only Connect and another quarter final in University Challenge. All good fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.