Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Please may I lick your hands?

This afternoon, I walked through part of the village to deliver cards to friends. In the field at the end of one road, a small herd of Galloways (and belted Galloways) and sheep were trying hard to find juicy morsels on poor winter grass.

The Galloways are young and once one had spotted me, they all came over for a quick chat. They are so inquisitive. Several licked my hands and I enjoyed the sweet smell of their breath.

We know a lot of people in and out of hospital, having various serious treatments or surgery. At times this feels overwhelming. Meeting the cows took me to a simpler, less worrisome place for a few minutes.

Otherwise, I've been at home. Mum still has a horrid cough that comes in choking bouts. I spoke to one of our GPs and Mum is now on steroids as well as antibiotics. Let's hope that settles things quickly.

We watched an exciting game of University Challenge, even though one team was far ahead, it was a tense match. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.