Freedom?

With rights comes some clear
responsibilities that
include rights for all

~ carliewired

I was out on my deck at 7:40 getting my shot of the lovely sunrise. It was a chilly -7 C but calm and clear. 

I finished my first coffee and took my time getting out with my camera. I left for McArthur Island at 10 AM. It was already up to -3 C. 

I parked by the foot bridge on the north side of the island as there was a rather nicely decorated bench there. Someone has updated this bench for Valentine's Day. The hearts sparkled in the sun. 

Unfortunately there were a number of photogs milling about the area, still in hopes of a lynx siting. As long as lynx photos keep appearing on our local media I will expect to see the photogs here. I took quick shots here and moved off to the south side of the island. 

I was really hoping to find some deer wandering about but I found disc golfers instead. They are a determined lot tramping through the snow individually and in groups. 

On the walk beside the river I noted how much open water there is now. It's interesting to see footprints on the ice ledges that are now fallen into the river. I got a quick chat with a quilter I know along that route. 

I drove on to the southeast corner where I discovered a "Freedom" rally gathering behind the recreation centre. This bunch is obviously in support of the group occupying Ottawa for more than a week. Seemingly, this group wants the removal of mandates for masking, vaccinations....listening to the ongoing discussion of this topic on our national radio is just too discouraging for me. I would never have believed we have so many ignorant/uninformed people in our country. As a public educator for 35 years, I despair! 

I moved on to see the parking lot ducks. I caught them with the background of the protestors. I've not seen that many Canadian flags even on Canada Day. I noticed the police were also observing but were keeping well back by the boat launch. As I left the island, more vehicles were arriving to join the crowd. 

I am home today with the sun pouring in my windows. Love it! 

We have a sunny day with a high of 5 C expected. The snow and ice is disappearing at a steady rate. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.